Restoration

When I got married and became a parent early in my life, I hadn’t thought that I’ll be carrying such big responsibilities. My aspiration to be a CPA was stopped because I had to work immediately to support my young family. Being a fresh college graduate, I have to start working at a minimum wage. My wife then was a full time mother to my kids and didn’t finish yet college. Working with a minimum wage for almost a year made us get into a lot of debt – cash advances, credit cards, etc. I want to get out of the cycle of being always a borrower because I felt like I’m always in chains. But at that time, I thought that I had no choice and this is the only way to survive. The Bible is correct when it says that the borrower is a servant to the lender. I want to be free from debt but I couldn’t.

When I was able to read on the books of the Old Testament, I was able to catch the phrases of “restoration of fortunes.” The people of Israelites were devastated by different assaults to their nation due to their disobedience against God, and they have been praying to God to restore their fortunes. The prophets also wrote about something God can restore their fortunes as long as they turn back to God and follow Him completely. This thought stuck in my mind. God was able to restore the fortunes of Israel because they turned back to God. That became my prayer since then (that was year 2005): “Lord, restore our fortunes; what has been lost to us, please restore them.”

True enough, He listened and answered to my prayers. God restored our fortunes and the process of His restoration is still ongoing. God, by His wisdom and guidance, restored our finances – paid our debts and now, we have savings. It’s not only the money, but God restored also my relationship with my wife when I messed up in our marriage years ago. God restored my trust with her. My wife now is finishing up college. He is restoring Noelli’s education which was lost supposedly when werestoration got married early. God restored also my desire to serve Him. God is able and faithful to restore what has been lost in my life.

On that day they will say to Jerusalem, “Do not fear, O Zion; do not let your hands hang limp. The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” “The sorrows for the appointed feasts I will remove from you; they are a burden and a reproach to you. At that time I will deal with all who oppressed you; I will rescue the lame and gather those who have been scattered. I will give them praise and honor in every land where they were put to shame. At that time I will gather you; at that time I will bring you home. I will give you honor and praise among all the peoples of the earth when I restore your fortunes before your very eyes,” says the LORD.  (Zephaniah 3:16-20)

A Personal Project: What are the good things in your life that were lost from you? Maybe good relationships, savings, a progressing career, blossoming relationship or friendship, or good health? You’re devastated because those good things were lost and gone, maybe due to broken trust, a lot of debts, mistakes and failures in work or relationship, or a severe disease. Ask God to restore those good things. Turn back to Him. He is mighty to save.

Author: effemamancio

a husband of one loving wife, a father of three handsome and affectionate boys, a man richly blessed by His Creator, a being called to love and imitate CHRIST

What can you say about this post?

